Good trainer = happy trainee; the smiles on my clients’ faces are worth dying for.

I’m sure you are probably wondering what is it about this smile that I’m using the phrase; “worth dying for”. Unlike most men, I can only be satisfied sexually when my wife is at her climax (reaches orgasm) and so it is with my job. Any service I render no mater how much I’m being paid at the end of the day if the beneficiary of that service isn’t satisfied then I’m not satisfied.

I was recently offered a job to be manager and senior trainer at megatron gym ajah and I accepted the offer. Prior to this time I had never trained a client face-to-face. I had always done my coaching online. So taking this job was going to be a new experience for me. My employer had confidence in my abilities because he had seen me workout at the gym many times, read some of my blogs and was aware of the award I won last year (Mr Body Perfect 2011). With all this he knew I could deliver and so decided to hire me. I accepted the offer because I have always had this dream of becoming a celebrity trainer and owning my own gym and I felt I was going to gain two things from this job; firstly gain experience from working with different clients with different body types, needs, goals and attitudes. Secondly get to meet influential people in the entertainment industry; since I’m a model and a ‘wanna be’ celebrity fitness coach, this would be a good platform to get close to them.

In anything I do, I love setting realistic goals and keeping track of my progress. I also try to pass on this traits to my clients by helping them set realistic goals and helping them keep track of their progress. I try to make sure they step on the scale once a week to see if what we are doing is actually working. Every time a client, whose goal is to loose weight, steps on the scale, amazingly there is always a reduction in weight except if the client has been away from the gym for too long. Now the funny thing about this is that each time clients get on the scale and discover that he/she has lost some weight there is this smile they have on their faces that makes me feel on top of the world. This smile says a lot of things to me and gives not just me but the client a push to want to do more.

I remember my first day at the gym. I took a client trough my normal routine of making sure she gets on the scale before I start training her in other to keep track of her progress. After checking her weight she made this statement “I have not lost any weight, this was my weight when first came to this gym. Its like I have just been coming here to have fun”. When I heard this I could feel the disappointment in her voice, then I said to her “madam don’t worry I assure you that from now on you will start loosing weight”. After I said this she gave me a stern look of doubt and went home. By this time she had been coming to the gym for almost a month but still no improvement. After about a week of working with her she got on the scale again and this time she had lost 1kg. Immediately I looked at her face and there it was; the smile I had been longing for. At that moment I felt like I had just won a lottery considering the fact that she was my first “success story” in megatron gym ajah. From that day on the lady in question started challenging herself, and since then I have noticed a great motivational increase in her. Before she went on the scale our aim was for her to burn atleast 500kcal a day and she was always slow and not so regular at the gym. But now she impresses me so much because she is more regular at the gym than any other female member of the gym and she constantly amazes me with the way she pushes herself. Right now in barely 2 weeks of working with her she has progressed and now aims to burn atleast 1000kcal a day, 5 days a week.

I have a client that lost 2.5kg in 4days and many more like that but I only sited the one above because of the statement she made on the first day I met her – “I have not lost any weight, this was my weight when first came to this gym. Its like I have just been coming here to have fun”.

If you have enjoyed this acticle please click the ‘follow’ button for updates on new articles.

Regards
kaycee
Mr Body Perfect 2011

Leave a Reply

